Membership Programs Meetings Publications LEAP Press Room About AAC&U
Association of American Colleges and Universities
Search Web Site
Resources on:
Liberal Education
General Education
Student Success
Institutional Change
Civic Engagement
Global Learning
Science & Health
Connect with AACU:
Join Our Email List
RSS Feed
Follow us on Twitter
LEAP Toolkit
Support AACU
Online Giving Form
Press Room


For Immediate Release

Debra Humphreys, Vice President for Policy and Public Engagement
202.387.3760, ext. 422

Seven Graduate Students Honored with K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award

Students Recognized for Commitment to Academic and Civic Responsibility and Promise as Future Leaders of Higher Education

Washington, DC—January 10, 2013—The Association of American Colleges and Universities announced today the 2013 recipients of the annual K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award. This award recognizes graduate students who show exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education; who demonstrate a commitment to developing academic and civic responsibility in themselves and in others; and whose work reflects a strong emphasis on teaching and learning. The award is named in honor of K. Patricia Cross, professor of higher education, emerita, at the University of California, Berkeley.

The 2013 recipients are:

Atnreakn Alleyne, Political Science, University of Delaware
Fiona Barnett, Literature, Duke University
Milagros Castillo-Montoya, Education, Teachers College, Columbia University
Sarah Lang, Human Development and Family Science, The Ohio State University
Justin Lomont, Chemistry, University of California–Berkeley
Laurie A. Pinkert, English, Purdue University
Gina Spitz, Sociology, University of Wisconsin–Madison

These individuals were chosen from a pool of 261 nominations in a rigorous process through which they demonstrated their leadership ability or potential for exercising leadership in teaching and learning, and their strong commitment to academic and civic responsibility.

“AAC&U is honored to continue its role in identifying and celebrating these inspiring young leaders,” said AAC&U President Carol Geary Schneider.

“This is another stellar year for the future of faculty leadership," said K. Patricia Cross. "Of more than 261 nominations by 135 institutions across a wide range of academic disciplines, the seven award recipients include an impressive number of Outstanding Teaching Awards, a wide variety of experiences serving local and worldwide communities, and a demonstrated concern for the development of others. It is heartwarming to see these impressive and dedicated teachers join the faculties of our colleges and universities, and it is especially appropriate that AAC&U should take the lead in recognizing future faculty leaders."

L. Lee Knefelkamp, AAC&U senior scholar, professor of psychology and education at Teachers College, Columbia University, and a member of the award selection committee, said of Pat Cross: “Her thinking about how we can improve higher education has influenced several generations of scholars; and her analysis and advocacy of the needs of adult learners, first-generation college students, and underserved students has changed the quality of a college education for the better. We are very pleased that she has now turned her attention to the next generation of academic leaders.”

The 2013 Cross Scholars will be introduced to the AAC&U community at its 2013 Annual Meeting, “The Quality of U.S. Degrees: Innovations, Efficiencies, and Disruptions—To What Ends?” to be held in Atlanta, Georgia, from January 23-26, 2013. The 2013 Cross Scholars will be honored at the Opening Plenary. They will also be presenters in the session, “Faculty of the Future: Voices from the Next Generation.” The Cross awardees will participate in other sessions and meetings throughout the conference.

For more information about AAC&U, its Annual Meeting, or the K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award, visit

About AAC&U

AAC&U is the leading national association concerned with the quality, vitality, and public standing of undergraduate liberal education. Its members are committed to extending the advantages of a liberal education to all students, regardless of academic specialization or intended career. Founded in 1915, AAC&U now comprises nearly 1,300 member institutions—including accredited public and private colleges, community colleges, research universities, and comprehensive universities of every type and size.

AAC&U functions as a catalyst and facilitator, forging links among presidents, administrators, and faculty members who are engaged in institutional and curricular planning. Its mission is to reinforce the collective commitment to liberal education and inclusive excellence at both the national and local levels, and to help individual institutions keep the quality of student learning at the core of their work as they evolve to meet new economic and social challenges.

Information about AAC&U membership, programs, and publications can be found at