Forum for Presidents and Foundation Leaders

Thursday–Friday / January 25–26, 2018
Grand Hyatt Hotel, Washington, DC


AAC&U thanks TIAA for their generous support of the Forum for Presidents and Foundation Leaders


Protests, Politics, and Moral Leadership

Forum Chair: Elsa Núñez, President, Eastern Connecticut State University and Chair, AAC&U Board of Directors

Preliminary Program


3:30–3:45 PM
Plenary Session:  Welcome & Opening Remarks

  • Elsa Núñez, President, Eastern Connecticut State University
  • Lynn Pasquerella, President, AAC&U

3:45–4:45 PM
Panel Session:  Perspectives on Campus Crises

  • Mary Graham Davis, Senior Consultant, Association of Governing Boards and Chair Emeritus, Mount Holyoke College Board of Trustees

  • Kumble Subbaswamy, Chancellor, University of Massachusetts Amherst            

4:45–5:30 PM
Roundtable Discussions on Campus Crises         

6:00–7:15 PM
Reception for Presidents, Foundation Leaders, and Special Guests



7:30–8:30 AM
Networking Breakfast

8:45–10:45 AM
Panel and Discussion Session
Freedom of Expression and Attacks on Faculty

  • Ibram X. Kendi, Professor of History and International Relations and Founding Director, Anti-Racist Research and Policy Center at American University, and author of Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America, winner of the 2016 National Book Award for Nonfiction
  • Henry Reichman, Professor Emeritus of History, California State University, East Bay, and First Vice President, AAUP
  • Joan Wallach Scott, Professor Emerita, Institute for Advanced Study

Professors Kendi, Reichman (Chair), and Scott are all members of AAUP's Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure

11:00 AM–12:00 PM
Panel Session
Overcoming Moral Distress: Responding to External Constraints

  • Robert L. Pura, President, Greenfield Community College
  • Elaine Maimon, President, Governors State University

12:15–2:00 PM
Presidents’ Luncheon  
Lessons Learned: The Changing Nature of the College Presidency

  • Lori Bettison-Varga, President and Director, Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County, and Former President, Scripps College
  • Fred Lawrence, Secretary and CEO, The Phi Beta Kappa Society